## An identity for Laguerre polynomials

By L. B. RÉDEI in Umeå (Sweden)

Dedicated to my loved father, Professor László Rédei, on the occasion of his seventy-fifth birthday

We shall prove the following representation for Laguerre polynomials:

(1) 
$$L_n(x) = (-1)^n \frac{e^x}{n!} \left( x \frac{d^2}{dx^2} + \frac{d}{dx} \right)^n e^{-x}.$$

(We use the same convention for  $L_n(x)$  as in reference [1].) This representation for  $L_n(x)$  is an analogue of the well known representation for Hermite polynomials:

$$H_n(x) = (-1)^n e^{x^2} \left(\frac{d}{dx}\right)^n e^{-x^2}.$$

In spite of its simple and potentially useful form, we have not been able to find formula (1) in any of the standard texts.

Proof. Using the standard representation

(2) 
$$L_n(x) = \frac{1}{n!} e^x \left(\frac{d}{dx}\right)^n (x^n e^{-x})$$

we can put equation (1) into the equivalent form

(3) 
$$A_n(x) = (-1)^n \left(\frac{d}{dx}\right)^n (x^n e^{-x}),$$

 $A_n(x)$  being defined by

$$A_n(x) = \left(x\frac{d^2}{dx^2} + \frac{d}{dx}\right)^n e^{-x}.$$

8\*

We proceed by induction. Equation (3) is obviously true for n=0 and for n=1. We assume it to be true for n. It then follows that

$$A_{n+1}(x) = \left(x \frac{d^2}{dx^2} + \frac{d}{dx}\right) \left((-1)^n \left(\frac{d}{dx}\right)^n (x^n e^{-x})\right) =$$
  
=  $(-1)^n \left(x \frac{d^{n+2}}{dx^{n+2}} (x^n e^{-x}) + \frac{d^{n+1}}{dx^{n+1}} (x^n e^{-x})\right).$ 

We use, for the first term in the right hand side of this equation, the identity

$$\left(\frac{d}{dx}\right)^n (xf(x)) = n \frac{d^{n-1}}{dx^{n-1}} f(x) + x \frac{d^n}{dx^n} f(x)$$

valid for any smooth function f(x), to obtain that

$$A_{n+1}(x) = (-1)^n \left[ \frac{d^{n+2}}{dx^{n+2}} (x^{n+1}e^{-x}) - (n+1) \frac{d^{n+1}}{dx^{n+1}} (x^n e^{-x}) \right].$$

Since

$$\frac{d}{dx}(x^{n+1}e^{-x}) = (n+1)x^n e^{-x} - x^{n+1}e^{-x}$$

it follows that

$$A_{n+1}(x) = (-1)^{n+1} \left(\frac{d}{dx}\right)^{n+1} (x^{n+1}e^{-x}).$$
 Q.E.D.

## Reference

[1] Bateman Manuscript Project, Higher Transcendental Functions, vol. II (New York, 1953).

DEPT. OF THEORETICAL PHYSICS UNIVERSITY OF UMEÅ

(Received September 5, 1974)